MCT Language Arts Level 9: The 19th-Century English Novel

  • Instructor Michael Clay Thompson
  • Code MCTL9
  • Student Ages 13–18
  • Terms Fall Semester 2023
    Spring Semester 2024
    Full Year
  • Day Wednesday
  • Time 7:00 P.M.


Offered exclusively through the Royal Fireworks Online Learning Community is Michael Clay Thompson’s Level 9, which is a full-year, college-style course. It will be a weekly seminar, with a major MLA paper due each semester.

The first-semester readings will include the following novels, listed by date of publication: Pride and Prejudice, 1813; Frankenstein, 1818; Oliver Twist, 1838; and Wuthering Heights, 1847. The second semester will include Jane Eyre, 1847; Vanity Fair, 1848; Great Expectations, 1861; and Middlemarch, 1872. The students will read these titles together as a class.

Prerequisites: MCT Level 8 or permission of the instructor

Class Meetings: Wednesdays, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Time
Fall Semester: August 16 – December 13, 2023
Spring Semester:
January 10 – May 8, 2024

Student Expectations: Students will read four major novels and write a five-page MLA paper of literary interpretation each semester.

Student Support: Michael is available via email.

Materials: Students will need Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, Charles Dickens’s Oliver Twist, Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights, Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre, William Makepeace Thackeray’s Vanity Fair, Charles Dickens’s Great Expectations, and George Eliot’s Middlemarch.


Student Information

Has this student taken a course with RFWP before?

Parent Information

Adult students can leave these fields blank.


* This is a required field.