Newsletter – May 17th, 2011

Posted on: 05/17/2011 Back to all blog posts


Valley Forge, Philadelphia, PA, June 24th and 25th 2011
Main speakers: Susan Wise Bauer and Michael Clay Thompson

Susan Wise Bauer

Several notable ‘firsts’ will be available for attendees: it will be the first introduction of Michael Clay Thompson’s literature component of his curriculum. It will also be the first opportunity for homeschoolers to hear about problem-based learning from Shelagh Gallagher and about nature study from Laurel M Dodge.

Michael Clay Thompson

Many parents were disappointed when the North East Great Homeschool Convention was cancelled. Several of those who were looking forward to hearing Susan Wise Bauer and Michael Clay Thompson asked us to organize an event especially to hear these two presenters.

The problem of finding a venue at short notice was solved thanks to the Valley Forge Christian College. The generous participation of the College has enabled us to offer a stimulating and intimate conference at a modest cost, and to offer it free of any mandates or restraints in content.

Shelia Gallagher

Both Susan Wise Bauer and Michael Clay Thompson will give half a dozen presentations each during the two-day event. Neither will speak at a time when the other is speaking, so you will not need to choose between them. You will have plenty of opportunity to interact with both of them.

Laurel M Dodge

Shelagh Gallagher’s problem-based learning units have a long record of achievement and awards in gifted education. Laurel M Dodge’s Nature Study for the Whole Family is currently winning awards and admiration.


We are delighted to announce that Nature Study for the Whole Family, by Laurel M Dodge, has won a medal in the national, Living Now Awards set up to celebrate ‘newly published books that enhance the quality of our lives’. It is also a finalist in the Book Of The Year Awards, a competition that aims the spotlight on ‘distinctive books from independent publishers’.

Congratulations to Laurel, an environmentalist, naturalist, illustrator, and homeschooler. She will be presented with the Living Now medal in New York this month. The winners of the Book of the Year Awards will be announced at the American Library Association Conference in New Orleans in June.


The Wind in the WillowsWe are now editing the first trilogy of Michael Clay Thompson’s literature component of his curriculum. The structure of this component is to offer three classics, enhanced with language arts illustrations by MCT, together with a teaching manual to enable educators to help children get the most from reading the classics of literature.

The first trilogy: Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, J.M.Barrie’s Peter Pan and Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland. The second trilogy: The Time Machine by H. G. Wells and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain, plus a third novel and the teaching manual.

We expect both trilogies to be available before the beginning of July, with more to follow during the course of the summer.

Share this post

Latest Posts



You are viewing Home-based Switch to school-based