MCT Language Arts Level 9 – The 19th Century English Novel

Term Fall Semester 2021, Spring Semester 2022
Ages 13-18
Instructor Michael Clay Thompson
Price 1 semester $775
Price 2 semesters $1500

Register now one semester

Register now both semesters

New and offered exclusively through the Royal Fireworks Online Learning Community is Michael Clay Thompson’s Level 9, which is a full-year, college-style course. It will be a weekly seminar, with a major MLA paper due each semester.

The first-semester readings will include the following novels, listed by date of publication: Pride and Prejudice, 1813; Frankenstein, 1818; Oliver Twist, 1838; and Wuthering Heights, 1847. The second semester will include Jane Eyre, 1847; Vanity Fair, 1848; Great Expectations, 1861; and Middlemarch, 1872. We will read these titles together as a class.

In addition to these eight titles, each student will do outside reading of one novel per semester, chosen from the following titles: Sense and Sensibility, 1811; Northanger Abbey, 1817; Ivanhoe, 1819; Mary Barton, 1848; Dombey and Son, 1848; Far from the Madding Crowd, 1874; David Copperfield, 1850; Bleak House, 1853; Tess of the d’Urbervilles, 1891; Jude the Obscure, 1995; Dracula, 1897.

Prerequisites: Level 8 or permission of the instructor

Live Classes: Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. Eastern Time. Fall semester begins the week of August 16th and ends the week of December 13th. Spring semester 2022 begins the week of January 10th and ends the week of May 9th.

Student Expectations: Students will read four major novels and write a five-page MLA paper of literary interpretation each semester. Additionally, they will read an outside title chosen from the above list and will discuss this with the instructor in the live classes.

Student Support: Michael is available via email.

You are viewing Home-based Switch to school-based