Two New MCT Trilogies

Posted on: 05/25/2017 Back to all blog posts

As Michael Clay Thompson notes, “It is by loving to read that children become literate.” And of course, it matters what they read. A child cannot become literate by reading a few modern pieces of short fiction or a few excerpts in an anthology. Becoming literate means reading the great classics, which are great classics for a reason: they are engrossing stories exquisitely told.

Read classics this summer. In developing the literature component of his curriculum, Michael has focused on presenting the classics in a format that includes his language illustrations, which highlight some of the special techniques the masters of English and American literature use to make their novels special. These language illustrations not only give the children great insights into the novels themselves but also show the children how great authors make use of the same grammar, vocabulary, writing, and poetic techniques that the children are learning in other parts of the curriculum.

Michael has produced two new literature trilogies just in time for summer reading. They provide occasion for an intensive look at two of Michael’s favorite authors: Robert Louis Stevenson and H.G. Wells.

The Stevenson Trilogy contains Treasure Island, Kidnapped, and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

The H.G. Wells Trilogy contains The Time Machine, The War of the Worlds, and The Invisible Man.

Each trilogy comes with either a parent or a teacher manual.

Stevenson Trilogy with Parent Manual
H.G. Wells Trilogy with Parent Manual
Stevenson Trilogy with Teacher Manual
H.G. Wells Trilogy with Teacher Manual

Share this post

Latest Posts



You are viewing Home-based Switch to school-based